R. Barri Flowers : Murdered in the Man Cave (A Riley Reed Cozy Mystery Book 1)

Murdered in the Man Cave (A Riley Reed Cozy Mystery Book 1)

Leave a Tip
$3 Suggested Tip

Formats Available

PDF 746.8 KB

Fiction

Mysteries & Thrillers, Fiction & Literature

For Readers Of

Lisa Scottoline, John Lescroart, Carl Hiaasen, James Patterson, J. K. Rowling

Buy Books

Connect with the Author

Contact

Print Length

220

ISBN

978-1505266016

Publisher

R. Barri Flowers

Publication Date

August 12, 2014

Language

English

About the Book    About the Author

Murdered in the Man Cave is a cozy mystery novel by bestselling crime writer R. Barri Flowers.

In the first book of this exciting new cozy series, Riley Reed has a popular blog offering advice on home décor and renovation and does part-time consulting work in Cozy Pines, Oregon.

When Riley is asked by an old flame, Brent London, a bestselling mystery writer, to help him spruce up his man cave as a newly single man, she readily accepts the assignment. But when she discovers him bludgeoned to death with a pool cue in his man cave, she finds herself thrust into the investigation to track down the killer.

The suspects are many, including three of Brent’s four ex-wives, two girlfriends, his niece, a former research assistant, a financial advisor, and his housekeeper.

When two people are arrested for Brent’s murder, Riley is less than convinced that the true culprits are in custody, and makes it her mission to prove otherwise.

An alleged suicide and confession seems a bit too pat for Riley, who risks her own life to get at the truth.

Includes a bonus complete cozy mystery short, “Ph.D in Murder,” in which a doctoral student’s independent study reenactment of the well-known and still unsolved murder of Marilyn Sheppard ends with a modern day murder and killer on the loose.

Fans of cozy mysteries will find Murdered in the Man Cave the perfect start to an entertaining and all-consuming cozy series.

Editorial Reviews

"Well written, marvelously developed mystery." -- Amazon reviewer

"This was a fun 'Cozy' mystery... Riley Reed is a home decor blogger and has a book club. An old flame,an author of some standing, asks her to help redo his den into his Man Cave. She's happy to help out,only when she gets there...he is dead.So it goes,friends and foes are questioned and the unlikeliest of culprits is caught." -- Deedra, Book Reviewer

"Enjoyed choice of murder location,getting harder to find somewhere different. Liked Riley,was rather surprised she didn't have an antagonistic relationship with police...but very glad. It's a welcome change,and not to have her treated like a brainless person." -- Amazon reviewer

"Loved it!" -- Amazon reviewer

More Praise for Mystery and Thriller Fiction by R. Barri Flowers

“A heart-thumping thriller, this is that rare novel that is downright scary. Pick it up at your peril, because you won't put it down until you've read the last word." -- John Lutz, Edgar winner and bestselling mystery author on Before He Kills Again

“A masterful thriller set in the dark underbelly of Maui, with lots of fine action, down and dirty characters, and the vivid details of police procedure one would expect from an author who is also a top criminologist. A terrific read!" -- Douglas Preston, bestselling thriller writer on Murder in Maui

"An excellent look at the jurisprudence system...will appeal to fans of John Grisham and Linda Fairstein." -- Harriet Klausner on Persuasive Evidence "An exquisitely rich and masterfully constructed mystery.... A savvy, smooth, and sumptuous read that's as hot as Waikiki beach sand." -- Jon Land, bestselling crime writer on Murder in Maui

"It gets no better than this! R. Barri Flowers has written another thriller guaranteed to hold onto its readers!" -- Huntress Reviews on Dark Streets of Whitechapel “A gripping and tightly woven tale you won't want to put down. Author Flowers neatly contrasts the natural beauty of a tropical paradise with the ugliness of murder and its aftermath." -- John Lutz, Edgar winner and bestselling crime writer on Murder in Maui

"R. Barri Flowers writes with the passion and knowledge of someone who truly knows his craft. A steamy, non-stop thrill-ride through the seamy underbelly of Hawaii." -- Allison Leotta, former federal prosecutor and thriller author on Murder in Maui

“Flowers once again has written a page-turner legal thriller that begins with a bang and rapidly moves along to its final page.” -- Midwest Book Review on State’s Evidence

“A model of crime fiction.... Flowers may be a new voice in modern mystery writing, but he is already one of its best voices.” -- Statesman Journal on Justice Served

More From this Author

TestBook1

More From this Author