William Hertling : Avogadro Corp

Avogadro Corp

Leave a Tip
$4 Suggested Tip

Formats Available

EPUB 381 KB
MOBI 906.6 KB

Fiction

Mysteries & Thrillers, Sci-Fi & Fantasy

For Readers Of

Daniel Suarez, Cory Doctorow, Ramez Naam, Walter Jon Williams, Charles Stross

Buy Books

Connect with the Author

Contact

Print Length

240

ISBN

0984755705

Publisher

Liquididea Press

Publication Date

12/1/2011

Language

English

About the Book    About the Author

David Ryan is the designer of ELOPe, an email language optimization program, that if successful, will make his career. But when the project is suddenly in danger of being canceled, David embeds a hidden directive in the software accidentally creating a runaway artificial intelligence.

David and his team are initially thrilled when the project is allocated extra servers and programmers. But excitement turns to fear as the team realizes that they are being manipulated by an A.I. who is redirecting corporate funds, reassigning personnel and arming itself in pursuit of its own agenda.

Editorial Reviews

"Highly entertaining, gripping, thought inspiring. Don't start without the time to finish -- it won't let you go." --Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author of The Intelligent Organization

"A tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines." --Brad Feld, managing director Foundry Group, cofounder TechStars

"A fascinating look at how simple and benign advancements in technology could lead to the surprise arrival of the first AI. And like all good techno-thrillers, the reality of AI is less than ideal." --Jason Glaspey, Silicon Florist

"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night." --Gene Kim, author of Visible Ops and The Phoenix Project

More From this Author

TestBook1

More From this Author