Mikey Campling : Trespass: A Tale of Mystery and Suspense Across Time

Trespass: A Tale of Mystery and Suspense Across Time

Leave a Tip
$3 Suggested Tip

Formats Available

PDF 5.7 MB
EPUB 761.1 KB
MOBI 2 MB

Fiction

History, Sci-Fi & Fantasy

For Readers Of

Hugh Howey, Neil Gaiman, Chuck Wendig, Rysa Walker, A.G. Riddle

Buy Books

Connect with the Author

Contact

Print Length

268

ISBN

1620157268

Publisher

Booktrope

Publication Date

April 23, 2015

Language

English

About the Book    About the Author

Three stories, separated by five thousand years, united by one deadly secret: Somewhere, sometime, the stone is waiting.

Discovered over 5,000 years ago, the Darkeningstone affects everyone who finds it. In Neolithic times, the night belongs to the Shades - the spirits that prowl through the dark. Only one man knows the secret of the Darkeningstone and he will guard it with his life. But someone is lurking within the shadows - someone with murder in his heart.In 1939, as World War II looms, the Darkeningstone will cast its long shadow into the lives of two ordinary men. Their destinies will be changed forever.In the twenty-first Century, Jake is too smart to believe the urban myths about the abandoned quarry, but when he strays too far, he puts himself in more danger than he could ever have imagined. Trespass blends gritty, edgy modern-day threats with ancient superstitions.

When it finds you, what will you see when you look into The Darkeningstone?

Find out today, when you read this gripping tale of mystery and suspense across time.

Trespass is the perfect read for fans of A.G. Riddle, Kate Mosse, Barbara Erskine, and Rysa Walker. And if you're fan of Dr. Who, we'll get along just fine. There are elements of historical fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and time travel in this book - along with a good measure of suspense and a side-order of thrills.

The rich plot and range of characters are enjoyed by adults and the gripping, fast-paced story is enjoyed by teenagers, young adults and new adults.

Please note: There is an element of enjoyable suspense in the ending of this book. Mikey is a British author and uses British English spellings The second Darkeningstone novel will be released in 2016 and it will probably be the final book in this series - unless the Shades dictate otherwise.

Editorial Reviews

This book was so intriguing and well written I just couldn't put it down.

D.M. Cain - Author

It is extremely well written and a real page turner. Story construction is good, and dialogue works well in several styles, including conversations in a bygone age, between quarry workers in 1939, father and son in the present day, and a group of teenage tearaways.
All realistically described, this story takes us into its very heart as we see the inexorable paths of each time zone connecting.
Stewart Bint - Author

From the Author

I have absolutely no idea what genre The Darkeningstone books fall into.
They are suitable for a YA audience but most of my readers so far seem to be adults. They have elements of time-slip and time travel but they aren't generic science fiction adventures. The stories take place across several time periods but I wouldn't identify them as historical fiction, which I often find too dry.
Perhaps you could say that I didn't choose a genre, but that a whole bunch of genres ganged up and chose me. The Darkeningstone books are:
Time travel for people who don't usually read sci-fi;Period drama for people who don't usually read historical fiction;A blend of myth and superstition for people who don't usually read fantasy;Fast-paced mystery and suspense for people who don't usually read thrillers;Richly drawn character based stories for people who don't usually read literary fiction.
Something for everyone!
What were the challenges in bringing this book to life?
Since The Darkeningstone books have multiple plot lines with the action spanning so much history and with certain intersections between the story lines, the planning is very challenging. It's very important to me that I don't cheat the reader, and so the plots must hang together and make sense. That's not to say that my wok is plot-driven. Yes, the stories must be rich, varied and complex, but it's vital that the characters don't take a backseat. I want the reader to go on a journey with the characters, so I work very hard to give the characters some room to develop and grow. Sometimes, the characters take me in directions I didn't expect and then I have to tear up my carefully made plans and think again. When you're dealing with elements of time-slip, it can be frustrating but hey, that's what I'm here for. I love a good challenge and I hope that it makes for a richer experience for the reader.

Thank you for taking the time to check out my work. I poured my heart and soul into writing this book and I really hope you enjoy reading it. If you do, please stop by and say hello. Amazon don't like me to give out any urls but I'm very easy to track down online.
All the best,
Mikey C

More From this Author

TestBook1

More From this Author